Mirror’s Reflection

by Ruhig

For a minute moment
I’m going to cross the line
Let you into one of my places
With a tip, flip, twist
I’ll rest my cap over eyes
Shadowed secluded
Sea greens
You don’t need to read
Now is here
We need to be there
Before the oaken frame
I found a thousand lines ago
It’s well worn by now
“Won’t you take a glance?”
The mirrors oval shape reflects
An image of you
“It’s not what I see”
I perceive what lies
Below those smooth lines
Subtle curves
I’ve spent my time here
Listening, feeling, following
Coming to read beneath those reflected lines
To find me
Forgive me if you’re studying
We must begin
Watch the mirror as it spins
End after end
Revolving
Teasing with blurred glimpses
Forget the perception of eyes
Feel the breeze on your skin
Let it sink in
Look between the gaps
Past the contorted apparition
Beyond the mirror
Beneath the skin
Forget syllables
Relax
Let the somatic fall
Back into yourself
Close your eyes
As it all fades away
Find yourself
“I’ll slip away now”
When you’re ready
Walk back the other way
Let the world see
The proud steps
Of an individual
Free from chains
Made from the mad mundane.

