Diligent Decades

by Ruhig

Eyes glaze as path fades

Fingers hold fast

Mind seizes

Chains rattle before I vanish

Heart rewinds the reams

The still frame memories

Course through every nerve

Searing, pounding, forcing

Wrecked body to knees

Three decades demanding

Answers

To every vague muse

I scripted, portrayed

Harmony or disarray

For the thousand

Glaring eyes

Searching soul

For the passion

Displayed

Now displaced

By guises

Assumed to fulfill

Their needs

Momentary measures

Meant to heal

Oh, portions were real

Inside lines

Somatic symbols

Mumbled words

Meant to mend

Faded eyes

Lost souls

Sundered hearts

I told you

“I’m an apparition!”

Here for the moment

A lease on lines

Just to help you release

“Is that not enough?”

I guess so

Though plagued

By perpetual sundering

Of how many

Paused, then passed

In seconds like these

I let go

None could handle

The real me

Beyond the lines

